Sep. 29, 2016

Natural Choice Dog Food Reviews

XX
Top 5 Ingredients*
  1. Lamb meal

  2. Dried potatoes

  3. Potato starch

  4. Potato protein

  5. Sunflower oil (preserved with mixed tocopherols)

Artificial Ingredients No
Contains By-products No
Price Range $$
*Large Breed Adult Natural Lamb Meal & Potato Formula was selected as the recipe for this ingredient list
What's good about this pet food
  • Natural ingredients
  • High-quality animal protein
  • Healthy grains
What's not so good about this pet food
  • Brewers yeast

Our Analysis

We give Nutro Natural Choice Dog Food a high rating for its natural ingredients and lack of corn or wheat products. Out of all the Nutro product lines, we believe that this is the highest quality line, and the most nutritious. All of the formulas meet the AAFCO standards, and use real animal protein and healthy grains for amino acids, vitamins, fiber, and minerals. The formulas also contain additional vitamin supplements to make sure dogs are getting everything they need for a balanced diet.

Nutro Natural Choice formulas are a good choice for dogs with known food allergies, as they do not contain any corn or wheat products. The only ingredient we are not so fond of is the dried brewers yeast. Some people believe that this is a nutritious form of protein that can prevent bloat. Others claim that some dogs are allergic to brewers yeast. Unless your dog has an allergy to yeast, we highly recommend this dog food for its healthy ingredients.

The Word on the Street...

The word on the street about Nutro Natural Choice Dog Food is extremely positive. Dogs seem to like the taste of the food, and dog owners like the fact that the ingredients are all natural. Dog owners have reported positive signs in their dogs after eating this food. Many dogs display lively behavior, stronger muscles, and softer skin and fur. Dog owners have also reported that their dogs have solid stools while on a diet if this food. Even dogs with sensitive stomachs seem to be able to digest this food easily.

The only thing that dog owners do not seem to like about Nutro Natural Choice Dog Food is the fact that there is a great deal of rice in the dry formulas. Ground rice, rice flour, and rice bran are listed in the top five ingredients. While rice is a healthy, gluten-free source of fiber, many consumers believe that the addition of so many grains does not justify the high price of this dog food.

  • Gale

    I fed my first 2 Cavaliers this food from puppy hood and both were dead by the age of 8 due to heart disease. My next 2 from the same breeder (a line breeder), were not fed this very high sodium food and, despite one getting cancer at 9 and heart disease shortly after, they lived to be 13.5 years of age.

    I WOULD NOT FEED THIS FOOD EVER TO AN ANIMAL. I feed Taste of the Wild now, and the cardiologist who checked my female’s heart at the age of 4 said it was the nicest heart he had heard in 10 years

  • Darlene

    My German Shepherd, Meiko has been on Nutro Natural Choice since he was 8 wks old, he will be 10 this June. I did briefly switch to the Senior (red bag) but he didn’t love it, so I went back to giving him the large breed (blue bag) and all is well. However, about 2 years ago I tried the new “holistic” version with poor results. He was allergic to some ingredients. Just like Bill’s GS, Meiko began to scratch alot and also used his teeth to the point that he began developing bald spots. His coat lost its glossiness and felt dry. This happened over the course of a week. I took him to the vet, after many questions, it was determined that he was allergic to the new food. Initially, I hadn’t thought of it as “new” since he’d been consuming this brand all of his life. Long story short, vet gave me pills, after only 1 pill the scratching was reduced drastically and of course I never gave him the “new” food again. Back to the blue bag, shiny coat. At almost 10 he still receives many compliments on his coat and how handsome he is. Wish I could attach a pic. We love Nutro Natural Choice.

  • Abe

    This new formula is toxic and has been recalled by the FDA as of 4/26/13. 1 cup killed my dog. Never trust this company again. If you have had a problem with this please call the FDA, US Food and Drug Administration.
    Most veterinarians will lie to you about food based problems and prescribe expensive and harmful treatments when the problem is the food. I used NUTRO for 8 years.
    Gypsy died a painful death in 1 1/2 days from this NEW & IMPROVED formula. Veterinary bill $2357.

    • tink

      Hello abe,
      I checked the fda recall list for 2013 and this food was not on the list. Where exactly did you hear about this?

  • mary

    I have a 9 month old cavoodle. He is allergic to all forms of chicken. Do you made a food that contains absolutely no chicken? Not even the flavor of chicken. He throws up and gets diarrhea within 4 hours of consumption. He used to eat the limited ingredient puppy lamb and ricebut it has chicken in it and he stopped eating it. He is now eating a prescription wet diet from the vet. I want to feed him dry again. Thank you awaiting your reply.

    • maralevine

      It seems as though Natural Choice has some form of chicken in each dog food formula, but you may want to contact them directly to see if they have any suggestions for you.

      • denise

        I am so confused. I changed my corgi to Nutro Natural Lite last week. I’ve done it very gradually so there has been no issue with gastric issues. But, now that I am reading about the issues with lethargy and death I am afraid to continue giving it to him. Is it really safe? Should I stop and get something else? How do I know???

  • Bill

    My German Shepherd was raised from a puppy on Nutro natural choice and once he hit 6 he was changed over to Natural Choice Senior at the recommendation of Nutro. Three years ago his coat lost its gloss and he really began to chew his paws and was itchy all over. He had to be coaxed to eat and became lethargic. I again contacted Nutro and they assured me there was no change in the formula but the internet was full of chatter that they did. I subsequently change him over to Kirkland Senior and His coat became glossy again, he stopped biting his paws and constantly scratching as well his energy level returned. From what i read on the net i do have some concerns with Kirkland but my GSD now 11 is thriving on it.

  • Monica

    I am wondering if they changed the formula of the Large Breed Senior dry food (red bag)? My 14 yr old chocolate lab had major gas issues until we switched him to Natural Choice about a year ago. Lately, he’s had severe gas and I’m wondering if anything changed in their formula. I don’t recall buying a Chicken, Whole Brown Rice and Oatmeal formula this last time (I threw away the bag once I put it in the food bin). I really think he’s been on Lamb Meal and Rice formula, but on the website, that formula seems to be just for Large Breed Adult (green bag) which I don’t buy the green bag. Would love to hear your input. Thanks!

  • Marti

    I fed my Sammy the Turkey/Potato Grain Free wet food. When opening a new can, I discovered the end of a mouse tail with the hair still attached. It was about 2 inches long. That wasn’t listed as one of the ingredients.
    NO MORE NUTRO PRODUCTS! I thought I was safe because it was manufactured in USA.
    My question was, where is the rest of that rodent?

    I wished that I had kept the can but I still have the mouse tail.

  • l77

    My Pug has been on Nature’s Choice Lite version for more than 10 years and he is the most vibrant, spunky 10 year old with the most soft and silky coat. Over the years people have commented on his coat and weight and I let them know it’s the food he eats. it is high quality food. He has NEVER had any major health issues and I believe he will live a long healthy life by staying on this food. Thought I’d share my review :)

  • Andrew (Store Manager)

    Nutro is a great company that make their OWN FOOD! Nutro also has great quality control on the making of the foods. Many negative reviews on nutro are simply people not mixing new foods with the old during the switching process. If you switch from a junk food such as Kibbles and Bits to Nutro your pets taking a change such as us eating mcdonalds everyday to eating roast beef every day. We have many happy customers at my store buying Nutro and we explain the full process of changing a dogs food gradually to anybody that is thinking about changing over. Also Nutro does a buy 10 bags get one free. Does your food company do that?

    • Jacqueline

      I have a cat and Nutro changed the formula suddenly on his cat food and I had none of the old food left to mix it with. So while your idea is nice about mixing the old and new, we consumers aren’t always given a choice. And there is something wrong with the new formula. Both my mom’s cat and my own who love at different homes and have different flavors aren’t eating the new food well. My cat is normally a pig and eats everything. He is leaving this food behind in his bowl and still crying for different food. My mom’s cat is doing the same. There is something wrong with this company. And I’m determined to get to the bottom of it. My cat keeps looking at me like something is wrong. He had better be alright because if not this company is gonna pay.

  • Lindsay

    A unique fact about Nutro is they can track ALL their ingredients and know where they come from and where they go. Can your food company do that?

    • Rhoda Auman

      I feed my 4 boxers this food after reading some of these reviews I am uncertain I am giving them the right food can someone please help

More Information

Nutro Natural Choice Dog Food

The Nutro dog food brand is fairly well-known among dog owners. Nutro’s company has been in business for close to 90 years! Nutro Natural Choice Dog Food is made using high quality that include all of the essential vitamins and minerals for your dog. For dogs with allergies, they also offer a grain free diet.

Who Makes Nutro Natural Choice?

Nutro Products, Inc, is the name of the company that manufactures Nutro dog food. Though Nutro Products was founded in 1926, it is now owned by Mars, Inc. Nutro Products was actually founded by a man named John Saleen, who first used the Nutro brand name. There are currently three Nutro brands produced by Nutro Products – Nutro MAX, Nutro ULTRA and Nutro Natural Choice.

Nutro Natural Choice Dog Food Recall

As of right now, Nutro Natural Choice dog food has not been involved in any recent pet food recalls, and is not currently listed on the FDA recall list. However, recall information may change. In order to make sure that your dog’s food is safe, it’s always highly recommended that you check the FDA’s pet food recall website. This will help you to stay updated on the latest pet food recall information.

Nutro Natural Choice Dog Food Ingredients

The main source of carbohydrates in most of the Nutro Natural Choice formulas comes from rice. Nutro Natural Choice includes protein from high-quality meat, and the food is also meets the AAFCO standards. There are no chemical preservatives in any Nutro brand dog food formula.

Nutro Natural Choice Allergies

There does not appear to be any issues with Nutro Natural Choice Dog Food and allergies. Nutro Natural Choice makes a grain-free line of foods for dogs that have sensitivities and allergies to grains.

Nutro Natural Choice Recipes:

  • Grain Free Large Breed Adult Lamb Meal & Potato Formula
  • Grain Free Adult Turkey Meal & Potato Formula
  • Grain Free Adult Venison Meal & Potato Formula
  • Grain Free Adult Lamb Meal & Potato Formula
  • Small Breed Adult Chicken & Whole Brown Rice Formula
  • Small Breed Puppy Chicken & Whole Brown Rice Formula
  • Small Breed Senior Chicken & Whole Brown Rice Formula
  • Small Breed Weight Control Chicken & Whole Brown Rice Formula
  • Toy Breed Adult Chicken & Whole Brown Rice Formula Chicken & Whole Brown Rice Formula
  • Small Bites Puppy Chicken Meal, Rice & Oatmeal Formula
  • Large Breed Puppy Lamb Meal & Rice Formula
  • Chicken Meal, Rice & Oatmeal Formula
  • Puppy Lamb Meal & Rice Formula
  • High Energy For Highly Active Adult Dogs
  • Large Breed Puppy For Puppies That Grow To 50 lbs. Or More
  • Lite For Overweight & Less Active Dogs
  • Large Breed Adult For Adult Dogs 50 lbs. & Over
  • Lamb Meal & Rice Formula For All Lifestages & Breeds
  • Large Breed Adult Lamb Meal & Rice Formula
  • Small Bites Lamb Meal & Rice Formula
  • Large Breed Weight Management
  • Venison Meal & Whole Brown Rice Formula
  • Senior
  • Large Breed Senior
  • Herring Meal, Rice & Potato Formula

Canned food

  • Grain Free Adult Turkey & Potato Formula
  • Grain Free Adult Whitefish & Potato Formula
  • Puppy Lamb & Rice Formula
  • Adult Turkey, Lamb & Pasta Formula
  • Puppy Chicken, Rice & Oatmeal Formula
  • Adult High Energy
  • Large Breed Puppy Chicken & Rice Dinner Chunks in Gravy
  • Lite Adult With Lamb & Rice
  • Large Breed Puppy Lamb & Rice Dinner Chunks in Gravy
  • Large Breed Adult Chicken & Rice Dinner Chunks in Gravy
  • Adult Original Lamb & Rice Formula
  • Large Breed Adult Lamb & Rice Dinner Chunks in Gravy
  • Adult Lamb & Rice Recipe
  • Large Breed Weight Management Chicken & Rice Dinner Chunks in Gravy
  • Adult Chicken, Rice & Oatmeal Formula
  • Senior Chicken & Rice Formula
  • Senior Turkey & Rice Formula
  • Adult Herring & Sweet Potato Formula
  • Senior Lamb & Rice Recipe Chunks in Gravy
  • Adult Lamb & Pasta Formula
  • Large Breed Senior Chicken & Rice Dinner Chunks in Gravy
  • Adult Lamb, Duck & Pasta Formula

Nutro Natural Choice Consumer Info

Where can I buy Nutro Natural Choice?

You may be wondering, “Where can I buy Nutro Natural Choice Dog Food?”. To assist you, we have included links on the specific Nutro Natural Choice formula pages to purchase Nutro Natural Choice dog food.

How much Nutro Natural Choice should I feed my dog?

A common question that many pet owners have, is “How much Nutro Natural Choice dog food should I feed my dog?”. Since the answer is dependent on several factors (such as your dog’s age, weight, activity level, etc) always follow the specific instructions on your formula’s packaging.

Nutro Natural Choice Dog Food Coupons

Sometimes, pet food manufacturing companies will offer us coupons to share on our site. Are you searching for Nutro Natural Choice dog food printable coupons? We will let you know when they are available!

Please check back soon for Nutro Natural Choice dog food coupons!

Ingredient List*

Natural Choice Dog Food Ingredient List

*for Large Breed Adult Natural Lamb Meal & Potato Formula

Natural Choice Coupons

Natural Choice Coupons

More Natural Choice Coupons…

15 Responses to Natural Choice

  1. Gale February 1, 2015 at 7:46 pm #

    I fed my first 2 Cavaliers this food from puppy hood and both were dead by the age of 8 due to heart disease. My next 2 from the same breeder (a line breeder), were not fed this very high sodium food and, despite one getting cancer at 9 and heart disease shortly after, they lived to be 13.5 years of age.

    I WOULD NOT FEED THIS FOOD EVER TO AN ANIMAL. I feed Taste of the Wild now, and the cardiologist who checked my female’s heart at the age of 4 said it was the nicest heart he had heard in 10 years

  2. Darlene March 14, 2014 at 4:50 pm #

    My German Shepherd, Meiko has been on Nutro Natural Choice since he was 8 wks old, he will be 10 this June. I did briefly switch to the Senior (red bag) but he didn’t love it, so I went back to giving him the large breed (blue bag) and all is well. However, about 2 years ago I tried the new “holistic” version with poor results. He was allergic to some ingredients. Just like Bill’s GS, Meiko began to scratch alot and also used his teeth to the point that he began developing bald spots. His coat lost its glossiness and felt dry. This happened over the course of a week. I took him to the vet, after many questions, it was determined that he was allergic to the new food. Initially, I hadn’t thought of it as “new” since he’d been consuming this brand all of his life. Long story short, vet gave me pills, after only 1 pill the scratching was reduced drastically and of course I never gave him the “new” food again. Back to the blue bag, shiny coat. At almost 10 he still receives many compliments on his coat and how handsome he is. Wish I could attach a pic. We love Nutro Natural Choice.

  3. Abe April 29, 2013 at 6:32 pm #

    This new formula is toxic and has been recalled by the FDA as of 4/26/13. 1 cup killed my dog. Never trust this company again. If you have had a problem with this please call the FDA, US Food and Drug Administration.
    Most veterinarians will lie to you about food based problems and prescribe expensive and harmful treatments when the problem is the food. I used NUTRO for 8 years.
    Gypsy died a painful death in 1 1/2 days from this NEW & IMPROVED formula. Veterinary bill $2357.

    • tink August 19, 2013 at 2:37 pm #

      Hello abe,
      I checked the fda recall list for 2013 and this food was not on the list. Where exactly did you hear about this?

  4. mary March 3, 2013 at 9:35 am #

    I have a 9 month old cavoodle. He is allergic to all forms of chicken. Do you made a food that contains absolutely no chicken? Not even the flavor of chicken. He throws up and gets diarrhea within 4 hours of consumption. He used to eat the limited ingredient puppy lamb and ricebut it has chicken in it and he stopped eating it. He is now eating a prescription wet diet from the vet. I want to feed him dry again. Thank you awaiting your reply.

    • maralevine March 3, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

      It seems as though Natural Choice has some form of chicken in each dog food formula, but you may want to contact them directly to see if they have any suggestions for you.

      • denise March 9, 2013 at 12:09 am #

        I am so confused. I changed my corgi to Nutro Natural Lite last week. I’ve done it very gradually so there has been no issue with gastric issues. But, now that I am reading about the issues with lethargy and death I am afraid to continue giving it to him. Is it really safe? Should I stop and get something else? How do I know???

  5. Bill January 15, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

    My German Shepherd was raised from a puppy on Nutro natural choice and once he hit 6 he was changed over to Natural Choice Senior at the recommendation of Nutro. Three years ago his coat lost its gloss and he really began to chew his paws and was itchy all over. He had to be coaxed to eat and became lethargic. I again contacted Nutro and they assured me there was no change in the formula but the internet was full of chatter that they did. I subsequently change him over to Kirkland Senior and His coat became glossy again, he stopped biting his paws and constantly scratching as well his energy level returned. From what i read on the net i do have some concerns with Kirkland but my GSD now 11 is thriving on it.

  6. Monica November 28, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    I am wondering if they changed the formula of the Large Breed Senior dry food (red bag)? My 14 yr old chocolate lab had major gas issues until we switched him to Natural Choice about a year ago. Lately, he’s had severe gas and I’m wondering if anything changed in their formula. I don’t recall buying a Chicken, Whole Brown Rice and Oatmeal formula this last time (I threw away the bag once I put it in the food bin). I really think he’s been on Lamb Meal and Rice formula, but on the website, that formula seems to be just for Large Breed Adult (green bag) which I don’t buy the green bag. Would love to hear your input. Thanks!

  7. Marti October 15, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

    I fed my Sammy the Turkey/Potato Grain Free wet food. When opening a new can, I discovered the end of a mouse tail with the hair still attached. It was about 2 inches long. That wasn’t listed as one of the ingredients.
    NO MORE NUTRO PRODUCTS! I thought I was safe because it was manufactured in USA.
    My question was, where is the rest of that rodent?

    I wished that I had kept the can but I still have the mouse tail.

  8. l77 March 8, 2012 at 12:19 am #

    My Pug has been on Nature’s Choice Lite version for more than 10 years and he is the most vibrant, spunky 10 year old with the most soft and silky coat. Over the years people have commented on his coat and weight and I let them know it’s the food he eats. it is high quality food. He has NEVER had any major health issues and I believe he will live a long healthy life by staying on this food. Thought I’d share my review :)

  9. Andrew (Store Manager) February 1, 2012 at 11:41 am #

    Nutro is a great company that make their OWN FOOD! Nutro also has great quality control on the making of the foods. Many negative reviews on nutro are simply people not mixing new foods with the old during the switching process. If you switch from a junk food such as Kibbles and Bits to Nutro your pets taking a change such as us eating mcdonalds everyday to eating roast beef every day. We have many happy customers at my store buying Nutro and we explain the full process of changing a dogs food gradually to anybody that is thinking about changing over. Also Nutro does a buy 10 bags get one free. Does your food company do that?

    • Jacqueline August 5, 2013 at 12:09 am #

      I have a cat and Nutro changed the formula suddenly on his cat food and I had none of the old food left to mix it with. So while your idea is nice about mixing the old and new, we consumers aren’t always given a choice. And there is something wrong with the new formula. Both my mom’s cat and my own who love at different homes and have different flavors aren’t eating the new food well. My cat is normally a pig and eats everything. He is leaving this food behind in his bowl and still crying for different food. My mom’s cat is doing the same. There is something wrong with this company. And I’m determined to get to the bottom of it. My cat keeps looking at me like something is wrong. He had better be alright because if not this company is gonna pay.

  10. Lindsay February 24, 2011 at 2:07 am #

    A unique fact about Nutro is they can track ALL their ingredients and know where they come from and where they go. Can your food company do that?

    • Rhoda Auman April 29, 2013 at 8:46 am #

      I feed my 4 boxers this food after reading some of these reviews I am uncertain I am giving them the right food can someone please help