Dec. 5, 2016

Dr. Tims Dog Food Reviews

Dr. Tims Dog Food Reviews, Ratings and Analysis
XX
Top 5 Ingredients*
  1. Chicken meal

  2. Brown rice flour

  3. Chicken fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols (a natural source of vitamin e) and citric acid)

  4. Herring meal

  5. Dried beet pulp

Artificial Ingredients No
Contains By-products No
Price Range $$$
*Momentum Premium All Natural Dog Food was selected as the recipe for this ingredient list
What's good about this pet food
  • Excellent proteins
  • Low in grains
  • Healthy fats
What's not so good about this pet food
  • Nothing

Our Analysis

We give Dr. Tim’s Dog Food a high rating for its high levels of protein, healthy fats, and nutritious supplements. Dr. Tim makes three different formulas: Momentum, Pursuit, and Kinesis. The Momentum and Pursuit formulas are for active dogs, and they are designed to increase stamina and endurance. The Kinesis formula is for dogs of all stages of life and all energy levels. Each of the formulas list chicken meal as the first ingredient. This is a highly concentrated meat that packs a great deal of protein.

Other ingredients include rice flour for gluten-free source of fiber, chicken fat for Omega-6 essential fatty acids, herring meal for additional protein, and flaxseed oil and salmon oil for Omega-3 fatty acids. We also like the fact that the formulas contain probiotics for gastrointestinal health. Furthermore, there are no corn or soy products in the food, as these can cause allergies in some dogs. Overall, this is a wholesome, balanced dog food that is high in protein and low in grains.

The Word on the Street...

It is very hard to find a bad review of Dr. Tim’s Dog Food. People love the fact that this is a high-protein food with no corn or soy products. Dog owners find that dogs with sensitive stomachs can eat this food with no problems, and that their pet’s stools seem more solid and less odorous after switching to this brand. Dogs seem to like the smell and flavor of the food, and the small pieces of kibble are easy to chew and digest.

Many dog owners like the fact that Dr. Tim has removed menadione from the formulas, as this is a controversial synthetic form of Vitamin K that is believed to cause kidney problems in dogs. People also like the fact that Dr. Tim takes the time to respond to customer comments and does his best to answer any questions customers may have about the products. The only negative thing that people have to say about this food is that it is not widely available in some areas.

  • Joann Harrison Nawaz

    What size are the pieces ? I have dogs under 20lbs and looking for All life stages, thank you

    • kimmerz

      I feed Dr Tims all life stages to my toy poodles and chihuahuas. All under 6 lbs. Kibble pieces are small. Excellent food!

  • John Hufnagel

    Just finished a 5 pound bag of Kinesis as a trial for my 2 Goldens. They love it and show no digestive upset or sensitivity. Nice, firm, smaller stools and a slight increase in energy to report for both of them. I expect the 15 pound bag to be delivered tomorrow. Great stuff. Thank you.

  • Richard Dilworth

    Is Dr.Tim’s Kinesis All Life Stages Dry Dog Food GMO free?

  • Angie

    I was researching a new dog food for our next puppy (Lab) who is currently on Purina Pro Plan which is rated very low. We will be getting him around 2/7/14. We also have a 5 y.o corgi/collie rescue who has been eating items for 5 years. All of our animals dogs and cats have been on Iams for 10-11 years however, I am finding that it is not good for them. Looking to switch both my new puppy and current dog to a higher quality food together over the next few weeks. Dr. Tim’s was receommended here but also other pet food review websites. There seemed to be less negative reviews and more positive/satisfied reviews for this brand. If any one reads this please tell me about your experiences.

  • Kayla

    I haven’t herd of the food. I’m looking for a good food to put my dogs on and this one has really good ratings. I have a picky 12 yr Yorkie. I don’t know where you can buy this. I’m in Ga we need it in pet stores here.

    • Violet

      Chewy.com carries it and ships right to the door.

  • Mojo

    Dr. Tim’s Pursuit review-

    My pup recently turned 1 year old, time to switch to adult food. We have used a large pet food company’s premium products with other dogs for years with good results. However they have recently changed their formulas and branding (again), but the new products aren’t yet available.

    So I’ve been looking for something available now. Read lots of analysis and reviews online, saw Dr. Tim’s but couldn’t find it near me. Really liked what I learned about Dr. Tim’s, but wanted to find something easy to get. Tried a premium food available locally, 2 weeks in my furry buddy was still having lots of loose stools. Finally discover a GREAT online pet food supplier (mentioned on Dr. Tim’s site) that made it very easy to get a trial bag delivered to my door in 2 days.

    My buddy is now doing great, more excited than ever for meal time, and no more loose stools (that happened in 24 hrs). The ingredient list speaks for itself, made in the USA, and by a guy that works his own dogs. Even though Dr. Tim is an MSU grad (Go Blue! 😉 kidding Tim), I’ll be feeding Pursuit as long as it’s readily available, can’t wait to see what happens when the season opens this fall…

  • Bert E

    I have a 2yr 6 month female Rottweiler that has suffered with skin problems and the shedding is terrible at times. After reading what goes into “dog food”, I understand why she’s been hacking a lot. She has horrible gas and won’t hardly eat her food. I’m going to give your product a try as of today. I will come back and let you know our results.
    Hoping for the best

    • tim hunt

      Thanks, Bert, for giving us a try and let us know how it goes.

  • Kim

    Just heard about this food. I have goldens and a few with skin issurs. I tried a raw diet, but was not successful due to time. Switched to a fish based food and all seemed ok except coats were not shiny and healthy looking. I have been using this now for a month and am seeing a difference in coats already, we will have to wait and see if skin conditions return.

  • tim hunt

    Thank you for the nice review as we do work very hard to make a product that has the interest of the animal as the reason why we formulate a food.

    For instance, our rice is tested to make sure there is not a trace of arsenic present so we can honestly claim it is arsenic free. We also do not have vitamin K or citric acid in our foods as well.

    We average 87% of our proteins being animal derived, the highest on the market for a kibble as far as we know.

    • Scott

      Dr. Tim,
      I have two labradoodles currently being fed Innova. It’s been a fine dog food but they both have very sensitive stomachs. How do you think your food would be received by dogs with sensitive stomach issues? Also, where is your dog food manufactured?

      Thank you.

      Scott

      • renee

        try the Dr. Tim FB page for direct answers since this is just a review page for customer replies.

        I love the food and have a Boston Terrier. High energy dog, sleeps great, no farts, no problems with vomiting or anything like that. If you have concerns, only give the Dr. Tims and no other additional food with it. I swear by it for 2 years now. No recalls either and made 100% in the USA ( Michigan) for the Doctors sled dogs.

  • Michael

    I picked up a 44lb bag of Dr. Tim’s Momentum on Petflow for a few hard keeping protection dogs and I really can’t say enough about this food after 2 months. I was concerned with putting the dogs in such a rich food but the transition was extremely easy. The quality is evident as soon as you open the bag. Most dogs don’t need this formula so Kinesis and Pursuit are probably better for the average dog.

    Double thumbs up.

  • Sal

    If you have wanted to try Dr. Tim’s, and you should, PetFlow has an excellent deal on this excellent product.

  • Judy

    I have three Jack Russell Terriers that burn more calories than their little bodies can eat. Momentum is the only food that keeps them in shape for trials. They are infamous for being picky eaters but they inhale this food and their teeth are nice and clean, another small dog problem.

    A trainer in the Midwest first recommended it to me but I couldn’t find it anywhere. I have been getting it from PetFlow in big bags and couldn’t be happier.

    I have tried so many foods over the years but I must say it reminds me of the old Pro Plan before it was cheapened to death. I tried a bunch of grain free foods but they really were terrible, including Orijen, which was among the worst foods I ever bought.

  • ed
  • Ed

    This food is the bomb. They all eat, they all look and run spectacular and there are no issues at all with soft poop, even on Momentum.

    Dr. Tim must be a genius because I have tried many foods and have never had this success. Also, you can buy it in large kennel bags on PetFlow, free shipping.

  • Tim Hunt

    Hello

    We removed the vitamin K inclusion over a year ago and now use organic kelp meal for this vitamin supplementation. We do have online fulfillment these days to help folks locate our foods. Just google that method or check our site and you will find the company that ships food across the country, one bag at a time.

    Thank you,
    Dr Tim

  • http://drtims.com Tim Hunt

    Hi Emilee;

    Thank you for the nice review. We are always working to provide the very best to dogs and cats in food and are proud to have it available for all to try.

  • Emilee

    I have recently switched my dogs to Dr.Tims dog Food, one German Shepard to the momentum and another German Shepard and a Lab to the Pursuit. I have noticed that there shedding has gone GREATLY! The Shepard I switched to the momentum actually gets excited to eat before this switch I had all I could do to get him to eat! As far as the switch over went, I couln’t believe how easy it was I was expecting it to take longer but within two weeks they were soley eating there Dr.Tims with no gas and/or loose stools! Very pleased with this food!

    • ed

      Same experience as you Emilee

More Information

Dr. Tim’s Dog Food

Dr. Tim’s dog food may not be a well-known dog food brand, but it’s certainly been making a buzz among dog owners. Dr. Tim’s dog food is marketed as being “Premium, All-Natural Dog Food”, and people agree. Dog owners are big fans of Dr. Tim’s Dog Food, with some people even spending more than they budgeted for dog food and going out of their way to get it.

Who is Makes Dr. Tim’s?

The company who makes Dr. Tim’s dog food is called Dr. Tim’s Pet Food Company. The headquarters of Dr. Tim’s Pet Food Company are currently located in Marquette, Michigan. Dr. Tim, aside from making dog food, is also a veterinarian and a musher who owns Alaskan Huskies. Besides dog food formulas, Dr. Tim’s also sells massage balm for working dogs, a de-worming treatment and an immune booster formula for dogs.

Dr. Tim’s Dog Food Recall

As of right now, Dr. Tim’s dog food has not been involved in any recent pet food recalls, and is not listed on the FDA’s pet food recall website. However, in order to protect your dog’s health, it’s always recommended that you check the FDA’s recall website in order to ensure that your dog’s food has not been involved in a recent recall.

Dr. Tim’s Ingredients

The first ingredient in all of Dr. Tim’s dog food formulas is low ash chicken meal. The word “ash” denotes the amount of bone that is ground up and included in the chicken meal, so “low ash” chicken meal is basically made of more meat, and less bone. The carbohydrate sources in Dr. Tim’s dog food are commonly from rice flour, oat flour and barley. Dr. Tim’s dog food does contain Vitamin K, which is a controversial ingredient among some pet nutritional experts. There are no artificial colors, artificial flavors or chemical preservatives in Dr. Tim’s dog food formulas.

Dr. Tim’s Allergies

There are no significant ingredients in Dr. Tim’s dog food formulas that are known to commonly cause allergic reactions in dogs. However, since the protein in Dr. Tim’s dog food comes mainly from chicken, you should avoid these formulas if your dog has a chicken-specific dog food allergy.

Dry Food

  • Dr. Tims Momentum Highly Athletic Formula
  • Dr. Tims Pursuit Active Dog Formula
  • Dr. Tims Kinesis All Life Stages Formula

Taste of the Wild Consumer Info

Where can I buy Dr. Tim’s?

You may be wondering, “Where can I buy Dr. Tim’s Dog Food?”. To assist you, this is the link http://drtims.com/distributors/ to find stores to purchase Dr. Tim’s dog food. You can also order it online at drtims.com.

How much Dr. Tim’s should I feed my dog?

A common question that many pet owners have, is “How much Dr. Tim’s dog food should I feed my dog?”. Since the answer is dependent on several factors (such as your dog’s age, weight, activity level, etc) always follow the specific instructions on your formula’s packaging.

Have you fed your dog any of the Dr. Tim’s dog food dry or canned formulas? Do you have feedback that could help other pet owners?

Please share your review of Dr. Tim’s dog food!

Ingredient List*

Dr. Tims Dog Food Ingredient List

*for Momentum Premium All Natural Dog Food

Dog Food Coupons

Dog Food Coupons

Posted on Jul.14.2015
  • On your 1st delivery - Use code 12OFF

More Dog Food Coupons…

23 Responses to Dr. Tim’s

  1. Joann Harrison Nawaz February 3, 2015 at 9:01 am #

    What size are the pieces ? I have dogs under 20lbs and looking for All life stages, thank you

    • kimmerz February 11, 2015 at 3:25 am #

      I feed Dr Tims all life stages to my toy poodles and chihuahuas. All under 6 lbs. Kibble pieces are small. Excellent food!

  2. John Hufnagel October 20, 2014 at 7:06 pm #

    Just finished a 5 pound bag of Kinesis as a trial for my 2 Goldens. They love it and show no digestive upset or sensitivity. Nice, firm, smaller stools and a slight increase in energy to report for both of them. I expect the 15 pound bag to be delivered tomorrow. Great stuff. Thank you.

  3. Richard Dilworth May 26, 2014 at 1:10 pm #

    Is Dr.Tim’s Kinesis All Life Stages Dry Dog Food GMO free?

  4. Angie January 22, 2014 at 4:05 pm #

    I was researching a new dog food for our next puppy (Lab) who is currently on Purina Pro Plan which is rated very low. We will be getting him around 2/7/14. We also have a 5 y.o corgi/collie rescue who has been eating items for 5 years. All of our animals dogs and cats have been on Iams for 10-11 years however, I am finding that it is not good for them. Looking to switch both my new puppy and current dog to a higher quality food together over the next few weeks. Dr. Tim’s was receommended here but also other pet food review websites. There seemed to be less negative reviews and more positive/satisfied reviews for this brand. If any one reads this please tell me about your experiences.

  5. Kayla December 6, 2013 at 1:08 am #

    I haven’t herd of the food. I’m looking for a good food to put my dogs on and this one has really good ratings. I have a picky 12 yr Yorkie. I don’t know where you can buy this. I’m in Ga we need it in pet stores here.

    • Violet January 31, 2015 at 5:38 pm #

      Chewy.com carries it and ships right to the door.

  6. Mojo July 19, 2013 at 10:48 pm #

    Dr. Tim’s Pursuit review-

    My pup recently turned 1 year old, time to switch to adult food. We have used a large pet food company’s premium products with other dogs for years with good results. However they have recently changed their formulas and branding (again), but the new products aren’t yet available.

    So I’ve been looking for something available now. Read lots of analysis and reviews online, saw Dr. Tim’s but couldn’t find it near me. Really liked what I learned about Dr. Tim’s, but wanted to find something easy to get. Tried a premium food available locally, 2 weeks in my furry buddy was still having lots of loose stools. Finally discover a GREAT online pet food supplier (mentioned on Dr. Tim’s site) that made it very easy to get a trial bag delivered to my door in 2 days.

    My buddy is now doing great, more excited than ever for meal time, and no more loose stools (that happened in 24 hrs). The ingredient list speaks for itself, made in the USA, and by a guy that works his own dogs. Even though Dr. Tim is an MSU grad (Go Blue! 😉 kidding Tim), I’ll be feeding Pursuit as long as it’s readily available, can’t wait to see what happens when the season opens this fall…

  7. Bert E June 15, 2013 at 2:26 pm #

    I have a 2yr 6 month female Rottweiler that has suffered with skin problems and the shedding is terrible at times. After reading what goes into “dog food”, I understand why she’s been hacking a lot. She has horrible gas and won’t hardly eat her food. I’m going to give your product a try as of today. I will come back and let you know our results.
    Hoping for the best

    • tim hunt June 23, 2013 at 2:22 pm #

      Thanks, Bert, for giving us a try and let us know how it goes.

  8. Kim March 2, 2013 at 5:09 pm #

    Just heard about this food. I have goldens and a few with skin issurs. I tried a raw diet, but was not successful due to time. Switched to a fish based food and all seemed ok except coats were not shiny and healthy looking. I have been using this now for a month and am seeing a difference in coats already, we will have to wait and see if skin conditions return.

  9. tim hunt November 24, 2012 at 11:32 am #

    Thank you for the nice review as we do work very hard to make a product that has the interest of the animal as the reason why we formulate a food.

    For instance, our rice is tested to make sure there is not a trace of arsenic present so we can honestly claim it is arsenic free. We also do not have vitamin K or citric acid in our foods as well.

    We average 87% of our proteins being animal derived, the highest on the market for a kibble as far as we know.

    • Scott March 8, 2013 at 11:38 am #

      Dr. Tim,
      I have two labradoodles currently being fed Innova. It’s been a fine dog food but they both have very sensitive stomachs. How do you think your food would be received by dogs with sensitive stomach issues? Also, where is your dog food manufactured?

      Thank you.

      Scott

      • renee May 31, 2014 at 8:16 pm #

        try the Dr. Tim FB page for direct answers since this is just a review page for customer replies.

        I love the food and have a Boston Terrier. High energy dog, sleeps great, no farts, no problems with vomiting or anything like that. If you have concerns, only give the Dr. Tims and no other additional food with it. I swear by it for 2 years now. No recalls either and made 100% in the USA ( Michigan) for the Doctors sled dogs.

  10. Michael July 27, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

    I picked up a 44lb bag of Dr. Tim’s Momentum on Petflow for a few hard keeping protection dogs and I really can’t say enough about this food after 2 months. I was concerned with putting the dogs in such a rich food but the transition was extremely easy. The quality is evident as soon as you open the bag. Most dogs don’t need this formula so Kinesis and Pursuit are probably better for the average dog.

    Double thumbs up.

  11. Sal July 5, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

    If you have wanted to try Dr. Tim’s, and you should, PetFlow has an excellent deal on this excellent product.

  12. Judy July 2, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

    I have three Jack Russell Terriers that burn more calories than their little bodies can eat. Momentum is the only food that keeps them in shape for trials. They are infamous for being picky eaters but they inhale this food and their teeth are nice and clean, another small dog problem.

    A trainer in the Midwest first recommended it to me but I couldn’t find it anywhere. I have been getting it from PetFlow in big bags and couldn’t be happier.

    I have tried so many foods over the years but I must say it reminds me of the old Pro Plan before it was cheapened to death. I tried a bunch of grain free foods but they really were terrible, including Orijen, which was among the worst foods I ever bought.

  13. ed June 30, 2012 at 9:38 pm #

    Interesting Link,

    http://www.egilellis.com/index.php/Main/Feeding

  14. Ed June 30, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

    This food is the bomb. They all eat, they all look and run spectacular and there are no issues at all with soft poop, even on Momentum.

    Dr. Tim must be a genius because I have tried many foods and have never had this success. Also, you can buy it in large kennel bags on PetFlow, free shipping.

  15. Tim Hunt May 16, 2012 at 5:56 pm #

    Hello

    We removed the vitamin K inclusion over a year ago and now use organic kelp meal for this vitamin supplementation. We do have online fulfillment these days to help folks locate our foods. Just google that method or check our site and you will find the company that ships food across the country, one bag at a time.

    Thank you,
    Dr Tim

  16. Tim Hunt March 16, 2012 at 11:14 am #

    Hi Emilee;

    Thank you for the nice review. We are always working to provide the very best to dogs and cats in food and are proud to have it available for all to try.

  17. Emilee April 21, 2011 at 12:56 am #

    I have recently switched my dogs to Dr.Tims dog Food, one German Shepard to the momentum and another German Shepard and a Lab to the Pursuit. I have noticed that there shedding has gone GREATLY! The Shepard I switched to the momentum actually gets excited to eat before this switch I had all I could do to get him to eat! As far as the switch over went, I couln’t believe how easy it was I was expecting it to take longer but within two weeks they were soley eating there Dr.Tims with no gas and/or loose stools! Very pleased with this food!

    • ed June 30, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

      Same experience as you Emilee