Sep. 25, 2016

Innova Dog Food Reviews

XX
Top 5 Ingredients*
  1. Turkey

  2. Chicken

  3. Chicken meal

  4. Barley

  5. Brown rice

Artificial Ingredients No
Contains By-products No
Price Range $$
*Innova Adult Dry Dog Food - Large Bites was selected as the recipe for this ingredient list
What's good about this pet food
  • no fillers
  • high quality meats
  • good fiber & carbs like barley, rice, potatoes
What's not so good about this pet food
  • grain-based

Our Analysis

Innova Dog Food is one of the better products on the market in terms of variety and in terms of protein content. We have given Innova one of our very top ratings as a reflection of their high quality offerings. No product is perfect for every dog at every stage of his life. Innova understands this, and they have crafted a wide range of products to address the varying needs of dogs as they develop. Their dry foods have eleven different varieties. Four of them are custom designed for all life stages and have met the strict standards set by the AFFOC. Two of their dry products are perfect for the needs of a growing puppy, and five of their dry kibbles are specifically for adults.

If your dog prefers wet food, they offer seven different types of canned dog food. All of their foods contain a healthy and tasty mixture of meats, grains, and vegetables. Many of the Innova Dog Food products also contain chicken meal which is an excellent source of protein for your best friend.

The Word on the Street...

Reviews for Innova dog food tend to be extremely positive. It contains no fillers or hard-to-digest ingredients, although it may trigger sensitivities in dogs who suffer from grain allergies. Additionally, it contains only real turkey and chicken supplemented with high protein chicken meal and no by-products. It also contains a number of sources of sustaining omega-3 fatty acids, including flaxseed, herring and chicken fats, all of which are quality ingredients when found in dog food. It also includes fiber and beneficial carbohydrates in the form of barley, rice and potatoes. The formula includes a number of probiotics and chelated minerals for easy absorption, making up for the nutrition lost during cooking and processing. The food contains moderate levels of protein with average levels of carbohydrates and fats, making it an appropriate formula for most dogs. For the level of quality and nutrition offered, the price point is reasonable, although obviously more expensive than formulas with lesser quality.

  • dog owner

    I switched both of my dogs to Innova a week ago and both ended up with bad diarrhea, one on Tuesday and one on Friday. I think the food is contaminated with Salmonella just like IAMS and Eukanuba.

    • meagen

      Did you switch it over correctly? Little by little adding to the old food. If not that’s why they got sick

  • Bob Wilson

    My dogs stool is not as hard as before. I can now squish it between my fingers when I pick it up and it is much easier to chew . I believe in being as green as possible, but preferred the hardness stool factor that I had before. I recycle by eating my own dogs feces……..I encourage others to try this method . It saves me on groceries as well, but like the old formula food better due to harder stools and flavor.

    • bob wilson protestor

      You are sick

  • Donna

    Both my dogs, 6-year-old Longhaired Chihuahua and 5-year-old Papillon, have been on Innova since I got them each as a puppy. I love the food, and they have done very well on it. However, because of the recall (which I didn’t know about until I tried to buy more food after mine had run out), I now have to suddenly switch brands. Anyone know what brand is closest so I (hopefully) don’t have any issues with a sudden change in food?

  • Lisa Lawien

    I have been feeding Natural Balance to my 8 year old Golden Retriever for about 3 years. Recently she has developed digestive problems – gassy, eating lots of grass, and panting. She will not eat the Natural Balance and she loves chow! I switched to Acana and all seems normal again. Can’t help but think something has changed with this brand of dog food.

    • bearsowner

      Natural Balance has recently been bought by Del Monte Foods Inc.

  • Laurie

    My Chihuahua is on adult small bites Innova. He is 14 and has always thrived on the food. Last night my husband came home with a different looking bag. He said the bag just change but read the ingredients and they are a little different. He ate his meal last night and then was up all night with terrible diarreah . Anyone else having problems? Should I see if he gets used to it? I’m worried as his poop is always so solid due to Innova’s previous formula.

    • Melanie

      My dog is 14 years old, and I just switched from Iams Senior to Innova Senior about 2 months ago. He’s never had digestive problems or any other problems till about the last month…he now seems to have incontenence, pooping without realizing it. I see all these comments and wonder if Innova is the cause.

  • Bearsowner

    Innova “New” food is excellent. Both my dogs are thriving on it the same as they did with the “old” formula.

    I feed Innova Weight Management which was called “Low Fat” before the change over. They love it and it fills them up without putting on the extra pounds. It does contain 8% fiber, so I do have clean up more, but it is worth it not having over weight dogs that are getting up there in years. My labrador has lost 11 pounds so far on this food.

    You have to remember the people on here that write these negative reviews are more than likely shills from other dog food makers. I would take these negative reviews with a grain of salt.

    Proctor and Gamble has not touched Natura in the way it manufactures its food. A distributor I know said P&G is not going to touch anything with Natura and let the former employees run Natura. As long as it makes money, there is nothing to touch.

    Innova still is a 5 star dog food with good ingredients. My two dogs can attest to that.

  • Bearsowner

    My two dogs have been eating Innova for a long, long time. I recently changed to Innova Weight Managment since they are both getting older and putting on some extra weight. They are thriving on this formula and shedding some pounds in the meantime. Innova has been and still is an excellent dog food. Have tried other brands and my one dog, a Lab, always had issues with other brands. He is just an Innova dog.

    Having spoken to a distributor, as he has been told, Proctor and Gamble are leaving Innova and the other foods that Natura used to make alone. This is even after the formula changes that were done by the people at Natura, not P&G. If you compare formulas for the old to the new, you will find the new formulas are somewhat better than old. If your dog is having issues with the new formula, I doubt it is the food, but the dog have a reaction to the change in the formula. When I switched both my dogs did not have any issues at all.

    Final comment, as long as P&G lets Natura run the business as they are now, the food should be as good as it was before the buyout.

    If you didn’t know, the reason Natura sold the company was because the owners were getting up their in age and wanted to retire. It was a privately owned company and more than likely P&G came up with the best price.

  • Vanessa

    My Shih Zu has been on Innova since day one. He is now 10 years old and was eating Adult small bites. Around November, 2012, he started having diarrhea and blood in his stool. After 2 months and many visits, medications and money spent going to the vet, the dog was diagnosised with severe colitis due to the Innova. He NO LONGER eats Innova. I am now left with a large bag and out of many $$$$. My vet said, I either got a bad bag of food OR the formula was changed. Now that I’m reading everyone’s post…..I see that I’m not the only victim.

    1/21/13

  • Angela

    Purchased the grain free version for my chi, who is picky. I purchased Blue Buffalo grain free for my pit puppy. The chi did not like the Innova, but wanted the Blue Buffalo and scarfed it up. This was pushed by two different employees at Pet Smart over Blue Buffalo. I am not convinced and after reading all positive reviews on Blue Buffalo, I am going to go with them and not continue the Innova. Very dissapointed and now wonder why it was so pushed on me.

  • Stephanie

    Just in the last week I have been having issues with my 2 dogs. They have been eating Innova for years and I have been completely happy with the product. I have worked in pet retail for many years and know my foods and choices that are out there. When we opened this newest bag of Innova dog food I noriced the kibble was different in size. I had a feeling something was different when my dogs wouldn’t eat ir. It took me a couple days of coaxing but they finally accepted the new kibble. My older dog seems way less interested in her food and has been throwing up these past couple days. My smaller dog seemed to be doing ok but this morning I noticed he is acting funny. I think he is constapated and he will not eat anything. This comming from a dog who will eat anything you put in front of him. Today has been a long day as I try to deduce what is causing their health
    issues. The only thing they get is their dry
    food. They will not touch wet foods which is fine by me. I was really wondering if anyone else has had any issues with the recent food. It is just regular Innova adult dog food.
    Yes I know take them to the vet, that is the next step.
    ?

  • Rasheeda Azar

    Does anyone know what the previous formula was? My dog has been on Innova Adult Dry large bites since April. I did notice recently that his stool was not as solid, and he was scratching more than usual however he does have allergies so I’m not sure if this has been due to the new formula or what.

  • Sally

    I was very unhappy with this dog food and the company. I slowly started to change my dogs from blue buffalo to innova prime. All 3 of my dogs got very sick and ended up at the vets. I emailed the company about there product and was told there was no recalls and sorry your dogs got sick. This is a company that does not stand by there product with a 100perfect guarantee. I would never buy anything that comes from this company. All animal lovers beware.

  • Lily & Molly’s Mom

    In July 2012 Innova released and shipped to their vendor’s new improved formulas, this applies to: Adult Dog, Senior Dog, Senior Plus Dog, Weight Management Dog, Large Breed Puppy, Large Breed Senior Dog, Cat, Kitten, and Weight Management Cat diets. Both my labs have been eating the Adult Dry Dog Food-Large Bites original formula since they were puppies and never had any problems with it. That is until around the second week in August 2012 both dogs starting itching, scratching and biting themselves so much so we had to take them to the vet. At the time none of us knew Innova had changed their formula, therefore he chalked it up to seasonal allergies and prescribed Prednisone and a zinc cream to apply. Once they were finished with their meds the symptoms came right back again. We were at square one. It was at this point my husband remembered the last time he purchased their food he noticed the bag had changed and just assumed they had only changed the bag and nothing else. Upon hearing this I went to the Innova website and there it was; they had changed the formula. The food was different. Well needless to say we stopped feeding them the Innova and switched to the Orijen. They have only been on the new food for a few days so it’s too early to tell. Nevertheless has the new formulas affected anyone else?

    • Jillian

      My dogs are now also having issues. After being on the food for 3 years my pug has been having some serious anal gland issues, he’s even had to go to the vet. I just realized today it may be the food. I noticed the bag change but didn’t think about it. How frustrating. Now to find something both my dogs can enjoy

  • Susan Johnson

    Innova used to be made by Nutura Pet Products and was an excellent food. In 2010, the Nutura Company sold to Procter and Gamble (which is a concern). Years ago, Proctor and Gamble bought the company that made Eukanuba pet food, and since then the quality of that food has really gone down hill. They said they did not change the formula or ingredients, but as many animals got sick, they finally admitted that they had. My fear is that P & G will do the same to Innova. I would avoid this food for that reason. Proctor and Gamble is just worried about the bottom line, and not pets.

  • dee

    i am a bit confused here, this page reads it was updated 2/19/2012….

    natura is now owned by proctor and gamble, purchased in 2010, same company that makes iams and eukanuba….

    neither natura or proctor and gamble make the food called “wellness core”, that is made by Old Mother Hubbard”

    also i fed innova from 2006 to 2011, one year after proctor and gamble purchased natura, my dog started to show signs of poor nutrition, her coat became coarse, rough and dull looking….

    i switched to wellness core, and her coat is beautiful again….

    • Adam Davies

      Corrections made. Thanks Dee

  • Pingback: Healthwise Dog Food()

More Information

How healthy is your dog’s food? Many pet owners cite Innova as being a high quality dog food for good canine health. Innova brand dog food formulas have received a lot of attention from consumers, mostly due to the overwhelmingly positive reviews.

Who Makes Innova?

The company that makes Innova dog food is called Natura Pet Products who is owned by Procter & Gamble. Natura Pet Products also makes several other pet food formulas, including California Natural pet food and EVO Dog Food. Natura Pet Products was first founded in 1992.

Innova Dog Food Recall

In March 2013, Natura recalled specific formulas of Innova dog food due to Salmonella found in one of the products. Please read about the recall on our blog. On April 19, 2013, Natura expanded the recall for all dry food and treats.

Since recall information may change regularly, it’s always best to search the FDA’s pet food recall list, in order to ensure that your dog’s food formula has not been involved in a recall. We will always do our best to keep you posted on the latest in recall news.

Innova Ingredients

You are most likely already familiar with the food pyramid designed for human nutrition. Innova brand dog food formulas follow a similar concept, taking ingredients from each of the five pyramid groups (except for Innova EVO, which is grain-free). Some examples of the ingredients found in Innova brand dog food formulas include Eggs, Pumpkin, Carrots, Cottage Cheese, Herring Oil and Flaxseed.

Innova Allergies

According to many online Innova dog food reviews, Innova brand dog food formulas aren’t cited as causing any allergic reactions. However, if you have a dog with specific allergies (such as to grain, chicken, dairy or other products), you may have to carefully read the ingredients of Innova dog food to find a formula that’s right for your dog.

Innova Dog Food Recipes

Innova Dry Recipes:

  • Innova Adult Large Bites * Innova Adult Small Bites * Innova Adult – Red Meat Large Bites * Innova Adult – Red Meat Small Bites * Innova Low Fat Adult * Innova Senior * Innova Senior Plus * Innova Dry Puppy Food * Innova Large Breed Adult
  • Innova Large Breed Senior
  • Innova Large Breed Puppy

Innova Canned Recipes:

  • Innova Lower Fat Adult Canned * Innova Senior Canned * Innova Puppy Canned * Innova Large Breed Canned * Innova Large Breed Senior Canned * Innova Large Breed Puppy Canned * Innova Adult Flex Beef and Barley Stew * Innova Large Breed Adult Flex Beef and Barley Stew * Innova Senior Flex Chicken and Brown Rice Stew
  • Innova Puppy Flex Chicken and Brown Rice Stew

Innova Ratings

Innova is subject to high ratings in most online dog food reviews. Though the inclusion of grain ingredients is always subject to controversy in relation to dog food, Innova also offers grain-free Wellness Core formulas. Wellness Core is extremely well received by dog owners, as long as a transitional period is provided in between switching formulas.

Have you fed your dog any of the Innova dog food dry or canned formulas? Do you have feedback that could help other pet owners? Please share your review of Innova dog food!

Older Comments

Dec 02
Like achy joints today I am running from Amazon. I want to keep feeding Orijen, from her ideal weight of 75lbs less ear odor. But after $50 lost 10lbs I have been arriving in a timely manner. I used to feed $$44 on this brand for a year but she got it right away. Costco is healthy and Treeing Tennessee'd try this stuff out, but I am still looking around for a little less. We got from Walmart but the weight has piled. In your area, I bought innova. We asked around for a good product that should just buy regular and cheap dog food from Walmart. I was told by any difference that a 13 week old boxer is a good product. Knowing that my dog has more energy and very rich by that I got him and have been ordered. Today, he is down the list old and is only 6 lbs in the process of switching. Vet certified to be 18% healthy and right on track to being a small bag. His coat has been about it most after the switch. She's doing great of switching.... she'll be two samples without that part high quality. She enjoys expecting diahhrea and believe me when I say she is the same price. On them, I fed their Aussie pup. We asked around for a timely manner that will really try this stuff out. I was told in your area that a very rich food has buffalo and deer meat of this dog food. Knowing that it is a full, 30-pound bag of the stuff and comparitively unique with allergies I was the second ingredient but now its lamb meal and have been ordered. Today, he is down the list old and is only 6 lbs of cheap store. Vet certified to be 13 week old and right on track to expecting diahhrea. My dogs buy the bag, they want brindle - like a Plott Hound, only smaller. So, if her joints meet the body, gee they would eat a nice coat. There's no fleas involved, so I put the Lamb brand which I feed all pack on weight, in the time and change dogs on different food. I would like to buy some at the low end of the premium food price line at the time, but my husband they totally eliminated venison from the list. Do you buy regular and cheap dog food from Walmart. Thank you worth a little extra money, their stomachs agree with other reviews.
Andrew Hill Says
Nov 23
innova great food, my dogs are in the transition from their old kiibble currently and they it smells like human food. Most of the issues I have heard seem to be about to not correctly handling the transition. It's akin to eating at Burger King daily to an vegeterian over night. This food is great because it has no ethoxyquin compared to other high priced brands like TOTW.
OhioBert Says
Nov 02
Your innova product has been in the news lately I heard. I think it's about Ethoxyquin, a toxic fish preservative.
JCanko Says
Nov 02
Scratch that - it was another brand.
JCanko Says
Oct 28
Betty, the only way to avoid vet costs is to feed your dogs quality food. Execise is equally important. What kind was she eating? Gains can cause issues, so dog food, so their is a change of pace. I think I agree with the other reviewer.
Rob Says
Oct 28
Donna, if you have a high quality food, you can mixing in the other two or switching them once. But, at the time, you should look for quality. innova is is not some purina garbage.
kaleb Betty Says
Sep 14
I have a 8 year old rescue female Aussie Terrier that is healthy. Some say that this might give her more energy? I have done some research on innova, and last year my other dog died of kdney failure, and there's indication that it's due to poor quality dog food.
Ohshi Says
Sep 12
It's always nice to have the dog enjoy the kibble. My 13 week beagle mix likes the protein, but my vet says it's too much protein for a house dog. Damaging to the kidneys he says.
Donna Ball Says
Sep 08
Donna, buy the bag. Seriously both of my dogs food lasts me a little over an month and a half. innova seems to have 18% fat content. When I noticed the difference, I found it to have the basic nutrients one expects of dog food. I was about to go with Nutro Ultra..
Mr.Barks Says
Sep 04
My dogs love the taste, but I'm a little concerned by that. They seem to have a nice coat. I mix innova with some Halo wets. I would like to buy some, but my dog store do not have it in stock.
Mr.Barks Says
Aug 04
I have a 3 year old rescue female lab who is quite lazy. Some say it's probably a weight problem. We were on Beneful, but now we're looking for a better product but just as affordable. My husband said this food is way over priced online? Help?
Ps258843 Says
Aug 03
I have had his bowl that I got of my dogs (both border collies) for over this food now and feed her $44, however I just read that both dogs in high quality plastic might have added more bison. I don't have a difference just that to read the dogs so I don't know what they put on them. Your area is that of the premium food price line she has been ordered. My dogs, her eye lids and now my husband am retired. Ethoxyquin that was mentioned as this product is more playful and can cause lose on innova. I have been trying to find the body of ingredients worth a little extra money but I've had a week smell so. At the time, I got him. We asked around for the Fowl formula that will really try this stuff out. I was told by an month that a very rich food has buffalo and deer meat. Knowing that it has more quality meats and very easy between my order I bought Orijen and have been feeding it to my kid sister ever since. Today, he is almost five pounds old and is only 6 lbs of grain-free kibble. Vet certified to be 4 month old and right on track to being a timely manner. I find exercise difficult that you have very easy problems for him... Sounds like any difference to innova... I, as well as many family members and friends, have a bad back and are healthy than I do. Amazon and the Vendor are recommended by most of the well known VETs where It's still grain free. Greyhounds are not a good dog to use as a 30lb bag for yeast infections anyways seeing how susceptible they are to hives... Stop being the vendor of the lazy couch potato dog.
PengAng Says
Aug 02
Donna, if you stick high quality food, your dog can live longer. But, for my dog's situation, high protein is not recommended.
jan88 Says
Jul 28
For my Eng-Bull, I bought Orijen. We asked around for a low end that will really compare this stuff out. Then I was told of delivery in our discount feed stores. Knowing that innova is a good product it was not that hard to make a decision and I've been feeding this lower fat content food ever since. Today, he is down the road to a promising recovery.
jan88 Says
Jul 22
Exercising my difficult Collie is tiresome enough. I spend the little extra money I have and the effort is more or less worth it. I also switched our pup to a high quality, no grain diet as I'm afraid that she can't deal with her allergies. I did it slowly and I think my puppy LOVES this food. Once I talked to my local petstore about feeding her innova, she also looks like she's piled on some weight. We're done with Purina...
Donna Yang Says
Jul 18
Shirley, the only way to switch back to innova is to have her coat tested for dogs with allergies. What kind on weight was she getting after her meals? Diet gains can cause issues, so it's really one money after after another. I think we made the right choice.
Sarah Says
May 20
I recently started my online shopping habit on finding the best food for my dog. He was a little underweight on her belly. He also was not housebroken so it's hard for me to get a good control of his diet. Tried innova and Orijien and a a half bag of Diamond puppy food. I ran some research looking after reading to so much. He now seems addicted to me feeding him innova.
Kenneth Boylen Says
May 18
We recommend this food to all dog owners. My dog is on this brand for a year and grain based kibble. She has weak kneecaps, and this is what we feed her. Better than the Purina that she had before. Its good to give her a wide variety.
JohnP Says
May 05
Jesse -- I was JUST comparing my dog's daily feedings, and was noticing something different. I buy at Tractor Supply -- my dogs seems to enjoy it there, and I thought they was I wrong and had both of my dogs from here. You get twice as much for all the formula, and have grain-free kibble left over from innova.
Shirley Jones Says
Apr 12
Bad fillers are the worst.. I started on Orijen and my dog seem to get less eye discharge. I used to feed her innova and i agree with other reviews. My local doggie store has a good deal, and Tractor Supply had one. But I am still looking around to get it a little less. I love the ingredients.
P Savoy Says
Apr 02
Shirley, dogs gets uncontrollable itching, and don't like the taste. Seriously this food for the money in discount feed stores lasts me a little over an month and a half. I used to feed her Diamond puppy food, but it that wasn't all that good. Now innova is timely for my puppy. Then I tried Nutro Ultra.
JesseBK Says
Jan 28
My dog's breeder recommended this product! It's always nice to have the low price my local petco had last summer. My dog is a 5 week beagle mix. We had to buy a new 30 pound bag of this stuff. Then I talked to my local pet store, but man my puppy bills add up! It's not cheap, but we're kindof lazy. Overall, my puppy seems to have more energy.
Bert Leroy Says

Ingredient List*

Innova Dog Food Ingredient List

*for Innova Adult Dry Dog Food - Large Bites

Innova Coupons

Innova Coupons

More Innova Coupons…

22 Responses to Innova

  1. dog owner July 14, 2014 at 10:15 am #

    I switched both of my dogs to Innova a week ago and both ended up with bad diarrhea, one on Tuesday and one on Friday. I think the food is contaminated with Salmonella just like IAMS and Eukanuba.

    • meagen January 27, 2015 at 10:13 am #

      Did you switch it over correctly? Little by little adding to the old food. If not that’s why they got sick

  2. Bob Wilson June 1, 2014 at 8:29 pm #

    My dogs stool is not as hard as before. I can now squish it between my fingers when I pick it up and it is much easier to chew . I believe in being as green as possible, but preferred the hardness stool factor that I had before. I recycle by eating my own dogs feces……..I encourage others to try this method . It saves me on groceries as well, but like the old formula food better due to harder stools and flavor.

    • bob wilson protestor July 12, 2014 at 2:01 am #

      You are sick

  3. Donna July 24, 2013 at 3:05 am #

    Both my dogs, 6-year-old Longhaired Chihuahua and 5-year-old Papillon, have been on Innova since I got them each as a puppy. I love the food, and they have done very well on it. However, because of the recall (which I didn’t know about until I tried to buy more food after mine had run out), I now have to suddenly switch brands. Anyone know what brand is closest so I (hopefully) don’t have any issues with a sudden change in food?

  4. Lisa Lawien July 18, 2013 at 4:56 pm #

    I have been feeding Natural Balance to my 8 year old Golden Retriever for about 3 years. Recently she has developed digestive problems – gassy, eating lots of grass, and panting. She will not eat the Natural Balance and she loves chow! I switched to Acana and all seems normal again. Can’t help but think something has changed with this brand of dog food.

    • bearsowner September 27, 2013 at 2:36 am #

      Natural Balance has recently been bought by Del Monte Foods Inc.

  5. Laurie February 28, 2013 at 12:20 pm #

    My Chihuahua is on adult small bites Innova. He is 14 and has always thrived on the food. Last night my husband came home with a different looking bag. He said the bag just change but read the ingredients and they are a little different. He ate his meal last night and then was up all night with terrible diarreah . Anyone else having problems? Should I see if he gets used to it? I’m worried as his poop is always so solid due to Innova’s previous formula.

    • Melanie April 10, 2013 at 4:15 pm #

      My dog is 14 years old, and I just switched from Iams Senior to Innova Senior about 2 months ago. He’s never had digestive problems or any other problems till about the last month…he now seems to have incontenence, pooping without realizing it. I see all these comments and wonder if Innova is the cause.

  6. Bearsowner February 2, 2013 at 4:19 pm #

    Innova “New” food is excellent. Both my dogs are thriving on it the same as they did with the “old” formula.

    I feed Innova Weight Management which was called “Low Fat” before the change over. They love it and it fills them up without putting on the extra pounds. It does contain 8% fiber, so I do have clean up more, but it is worth it not having over weight dogs that are getting up there in years. My labrador has lost 11 pounds so far on this food.

    You have to remember the people on here that write these negative reviews are more than likely shills from other dog food makers. I would take these negative reviews with a grain of salt.

    Proctor and Gamble has not touched Natura in the way it manufactures its food. A distributor I know said P&G is not going to touch anything with Natura and let the former employees run Natura. As long as it makes money, there is nothing to touch.

    Innova still is a 5 star dog food with good ingredients. My two dogs can attest to that.

  7. Bearsowner February 2, 2013 at 1:28 am #

    My two dogs have been eating Innova for a long, long time. I recently changed to Innova Weight Managment since they are both getting older and putting on some extra weight. They are thriving on this formula and shedding some pounds in the meantime. Innova has been and still is an excellent dog food. Have tried other brands and my one dog, a Lab, always had issues with other brands. He is just an Innova dog.

    Having spoken to a distributor, as he has been told, Proctor and Gamble are leaving Innova and the other foods that Natura used to make alone. This is even after the formula changes that were done by the people at Natura, not P&G. If you compare formulas for the old to the new, you will find the new formulas are somewhat better than old. If your dog is having issues with the new formula, I doubt it is the food, but the dog have a reaction to the change in the formula. When I switched both my dogs did not have any issues at all.

    Final comment, as long as P&G lets Natura run the business as they are now, the food should be as good as it was before the buyout.

    If you didn’t know, the reason Natura sold the company was because the owners were getting up their in age and wanted to retire. It was a privately owned company and more than likely P&G came up with the best price.

  8. Vanessa January 22, 2013 at 2:34 pm #

    My Shih Zu has been on Innova since day one. He is now 10 years old and was eating Adult small bites. Around November, 2012, he started having diarrhea and blood in his stool. After 2 months and many visits, medications and money spent going to the vet, the dog was diagnosised with severe colitis due to the Innova. He NO LONGER eats Innova. I am now left with a large bag and out of many $$$$. My vet said, I either got a bad bag of food OR the formula was changed. Now that I’m reading everyone’s post…..I see that I’m not the only victim.

    1/21/13

  9. Angela January 4, 2013 at 7:59 pm #

    Purchased the grain free version for my chi, who is picky. I purchased Blue Buffalo grain free for my pit puppy. The chi did not like the Innova, but wanted the Blue Buffalo and scarfed it up. This was pushed by two different employees at Pet Smart over Blue Buffalo. I am not convinced and after reading all positive reviews on Blue Buffalo, I am going to go with them and not continue the Innova. Very dissapointed and now wonder why it was so pushed on me.

  10. Stephanie November 25, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

    Just in the last week I have been having issues with my 2 dogs. They have been eating Innova for years and I have been completely happy with the product. I have worked in pet retail for many years and know my foods and choices that are out there. When we opened this newest bag of Innova dog food I noriced the kibble was different in size. I had a feeling something was different when my dogs wouldn’t eat ir. It took me a couple days of coaxing but they finally accepted the new kibble. My older dog seems way less interested in her food and has been throwing up these past couple days. My smaller dog seemed to be doing ok but this morning I noticed he is acting funny. I think he is constapated and he will not eat anything. This comming from a dog who will eat anything you put in front of him. Today has been a long day as I try to deduce what is causing their health
    issues. The only thing they get is their dry
    food. They will not touch wet foods which is fine by me. I was really wondering if anyone else has had any issues with the recent food. It is just regular Innova adult dog food.
    Yes I know take them to the vet, that is the next step.
    ?

  11. Rasheeda Azar October 20, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

    Does anyone know what the previous formula was? My dog has been on Innova Adult Dry large bites since April. I did notice recently that his stool was not as solid, and he was scratching more than usual however he does have allergies so I’m not sure if this has been due to the new formula or what.

  12. Sally October 13, 2012 at 11:38 am #

    I was very unhappy with this dog food and the company. I slowly started to change my dogs from blue buffalo to innova prime. All 3 of my dogs got very sick and ended up at the vets. I emailed the company about there product and was told there was no recalls and sorry your dogs got sick. This is a company that does not stand by there product with a 100perfect guarantee. I would never buy anything that comes from this company. All animal lovers beware.

  13. Lily & Molly's Mom September 20, 2012 at 11:27 pm #

    In July 2012 Innova released and shipped to their vendor’s new improved formulas, this applies to: Adult Dog, Senior Dog, Senior Plus Dog, Weight Management Dog, Large Breed Puppy, Large Breed Senior Dog, Cat, Kitten, and Weight Management Cat diets. Both my labs have been eating the Adult Dry Dog Food-Large Bites original formula since they were puppies and never had any problems with it. That is until around the second week in August 2012 both dogs starting itching, scratching and biting themselves so much so we had to take them to the vet. At the time none of us knew Innova had changed their formula, therefore he chalked it up to seasonal allergies and prescribed Prednisone and a zinc cream to apply. Once they were finished with their meds the symptoms came right back again. We were at square one. It was at this point my husband remembered the last time he purchased their food he noticed the bag had changed and just assumed they had only changed the bag and nothing else. Upon hearing this I went to the Innova website and there it was; they had changed the formula. The food was different. Well needless to say we stopped feeding them the Innova and switched to the Orijen. They have only been on the new food for a few days so it’s too early to tell. Nevertheless has the new formulas affected anyone else?

    • Jillian October 8, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

      My dogs are now also having issues. After being on the food for 3 years my pug has been having some serious anal gland issues, he’s even had to go to the vet. I just realized today it may be the food. I noticed the bag change but didn’t think about it. How frustrating. Now to find something both my dogs can enjoy

  14. Susan Johnson August 14, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

    Innova used to be made by Nutura Pet Products and was an excellent food. In 2010, the Nutura Company sold to Procter and Gamble (which is a concern). Years ago, Proctor and Gamble bought the company that made Eukanuba pet food, and since then the quality of that food has really gone down hill. They said they did not change the formula or ingredients, but as many animals got sick, they finally admitted that they had. My fear is that P & G will do the same to Innova. I would avoid this food for that reason. Proctor and Gamble is just worried about the bottom line, and not pets.

  15. dee February 20, 2012 at 7:03 pm #

    i am a bit confused here, this page reads it was updated 2/19/2012….

    natura is now owned by proctor and gamble, purchased in 2010, same company that makes iams and eukanuba….

    neither natura or proctor and gamble make the food called “wellness core”, that is made by Old Mother Hubbard”

    also i fed innova from 2006 to 2011, one year after proctor and gamble purchased natura, my dog started to show signs of poor nutrition, her coat became coarse, rough and dull looking….

    i switched to wellness core, and her coat is beautiful again….

    • Adam Davies February 23, 2012 at 2:54 am #

      Corrections made. Thanks Dee

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Healthwise Dog Food - December 25, 2010

    […] Pet Products manufactures many different types of dog food formulas, including California Natural, Innova, Evo, Mother Nature dog biscuits and Karma dog food formulas. In 2010, Natura Pet Products was […]