Dec. 2, 2016

Avoderm Dog Food Reviews

XX
Top 5 Ingredients*
  1. Lamb

  2. Chicken broth

  3. Chicken

  4. Chicken liver

  5. Ocean fish

Artificial Ingredients No
Contains By-products No
Price Range $$$
*AvoDerm Original Canned Food was selected as the recipe for this ingredient list
What's good about this pet food
  • excellent meat proteins
  • brown rice
  • avocados
What's not so good about this pet food
  • rice
  • ocean fish

Our Analysis

Avoderm is an excellent dog food that uses an unusual ingredient: avocado! Avocados are very nutritionally sound, but some people believe some dogs have a food sensitivity to it. We have not heard of anyone getting sick from the avocados in this food, though, so we have given AvoDerm our highest rating.

Avoderm Dog Foods are manufactured in the U.S. by Breeders-Choice Pet Foods which is part of Central Garden & Pet Company. This is an excellent food that uses high quality ingredients including excellent proteins, fruits, vegetables and brown rice. The only questionable item that we found in some of the ingredient lists is the use of “rice” and “ocean fish”. These terms are very general when we really would like to know what kind of rice and fish are actually being used

The Word on the Street...

Customer reviews of AvoDerm’s dog food formulas are generally positive. For many dogs with skin-based allergic symptoms, AvoDerm dog food formulas seem to have good results. Some dog owners reported that after switching to AvoDerm from other formulas, they noticed an improvement in their dog’s overall health and appearance. The use of avocados does not seem to be a problem at all.

  • Lynn Ramsay

    http://www.petfoodindustry.com/News/Breeder_s_Choice_recalls_adult_dog_food_formula_for_Salmonella.html
    AVODERM RECALL!!!!! I have read many of these posts and wanted to suggest to all of you to find a food that controls everything from vendor auditing to distribution. Very few foods can say this. Hill’s is one of few…I would suggest learning more about their line of Ideal Balance which is also in grain free!

  • Casey

    I’ve used AvoDerm since it was first introduced back in the 80’s. It has always been an outstanding dog food and one of very few that has never been recalled and even better, it’s made in the USA. All of my dogs are healthy with beautiful coats and skin. Avocados are rich in vitamins and healthy oils and when I had my own tree, I used to slice up fresh avocados and No one ever had any issues. You do have to switch your dogs protein source every few months, so I’m thrilled AvoDerm has the Revolving dog food to address that issue and Yes I’m very loyal to AvoDerm. Every time I switch protein sources to another brand, that brand ends up on a recall or their coats don’t look as good. So as long as AvoDerm produces an outstanding product, I’ll be a loyal customer.

  • AVOCADO!!!!

    Avocado is in the 15th and 16th ingredients in this food, the staple of this food, and is also recognized as toxic by the ASPCA!!!

    Directly from the ASPCA website:

    Avocado
    Additional Common Names: Alligator Pear
    Scientific Name: Persea americana
    Family: Lauraceae
    Where Found: Primarily grown in Florida and California; readily available in grocery stores.
    Toxicity: Toxic to Cats, Toxic to Dogs
    Toxic Principles: Persin
    Clinical Signs: The leaves, seeds fruit and bark are likely all toxic. Rabbits: inflammation of the mammary glands, decreased milk production, difficulty breathing, fluid around heart, heart rhythm problems, death. Goats: inflammation of the mammary glands, decreased milk production, difficulty breathing, fluid around heart, heart rhythm problems, death. Birds: difficulty breathing, fluid around heart, heart rhythm problems, death. Dogs, cats: vomiting, diarrhea.

    If your pet ingested this plant, contact your local veterinarian or the ASPCA Animal Poison Control Center at 888-426-4435.*

    Why would you buy this!?!?!?!?!?

    • EJ

      I take back the thumbs up. Thought the arrow was for comments. You’re not a very smart individual if this is what you believe. Research the actual food.

  • Julie

    Have been feeding this food to my dogs for servral years. They loved it until they changed the shape of the food. Now they do not want to eat it. The pieces are to big for my little dogs and even my Aussie has no intrest in eating it any more. Why did you change it? Would love to continue to use this product but if the the shape doesn’t change I will have to switch brands.

  • LM

    My goldendoodle was on a cheaper dog food when we first got him, but for the last several months he has been scratching himself and he even started getting hot spots. I switched him to Avoderm and he seems to be doing better already. The hot spot he had cleared right up and he is scratching a lot less. I will continue to buy this food for him.

  • maggienbob

    I worked in a pet store back in the 80s and new about how wonderful avoderm was. I fed my cats (what was then called)avocat. So when I got my pugs 6, 3 yrs ago I gave them avoderm. What Happened?! I purchased a bag and it smelled Rancid! I took it back, but almost every bag I have purchased (from different stores)has smelled rancid. The ones that didn’t smell, I fed to my pugs and they started throwing up. My boy has a slightly sensitive stomach, but my girl can eat just about anything and this made her sick. ..so dissapointed.. back to royal canin & chickensoupforthedoglover’ssoul.

  • Sm

    I got my yorkie male a year ago he was under weigh and use to eat the yellow stuff so a went to the pet store and purchase avoderm smll brrd chicken/rise he lvd the food then try to switch to earth natural he dnt like it. So ket him with avedrm year latr swich him to the bake formla n he is scraching n gets hot spots im still looking for anther food but he doesnt like it 9/30/11 misn hls, calf

  • Carole

    I have two bichons that were fed IAMS since they were puppies. The two year old was constantly scratching and licking to the point where he would strip all the fur off his legs. And the five year old had frequent ear infections and problems. I switched them to Avoderm Adult Lamb and Brown Rice about a year ago and the change has been dramatic. Scratching and licking have greatly diminished in the younger dog and we haven’t had a single ear problem with the older one. What was even more impressive was the change in behavior of the older one. Since being on Avoderm, he’s had lots more energy. Not sure what to make of the issue over Avoderm including avocado but I know what we’ve seen has been overwhelmingly positive.

  • http://dogfoodreviews Teresa

    I just switched my two dogs, (toy aussie & pekingnese), from Merrick turdunken to the NO GRAIN Avoderm formula, (meat). My aussie is super picky and has trouble with keeping weight on due to high energy so I was worried. To my surprise and delight she gobbled up all the food in one sitting. Since there are no “bits” (lifesource or otherwise), for her to pick out she eats ALL the food. I’m so happy. Her coat is already improving. I highly recommend this food!!

  • Kim leyva

    I have 2 Pomeranians that have severe allergies….I would love to try avoderm. How can I get access to coupons??? Thank you

  • Pingback: Breeder’s Choice Dog Food()

  • Pingback: Pinnacle Dog Food | Dog Food Reviews()

More Information

Who makes Avoderm?

The company who makes Avoderm dog food is called Breeder’s Choice Pet Foods. Breeder’s Choice is actually a division of the Central Garden and Pet Company. Breeder’s Choice first introduced pet food in 1947, when they marketed frozen pet meals. It wasn’t until 1960 that Breeder’s Choice began producing dry kibble and biscuit treats. Avoderm dog food was first introduced in 1982, and continues to be produced today.

Avoderm Dog Food Recall

As of 9/2012, AvoDerm® Dog Food is recalled one batch of AvoDerm® Adult Lamb Meal & Brown Rice Dog Food due to possible contamination with Salmonella. This is only for the 26 lb. bags of food with the “Best by” dates of 8/28/13 – 8/30/13.

Avoderm Allergies

If your dog has an allergy to oatmeal gluten, it’s best not to feed them any of Avoderm’s dog food formulas that contain oatmeal. If your dog is allergic to a specific protein, such as chicken, it’s best to check the ingredients of your dog’s Avoderm formula.

Avoderm Recipes

Avoderm Dry:

  • Adult Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Formula
  • Adult Lamb Meal & Brown Rice Formula
  • Adult Vegetarian Formula
  • Lite Brown Rice, Oatmeal & Chicken Meal Formula
  • Senior Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Formula
  • Small Breed Adult Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Formula
  • Large Breed Adult Chicken Meal & Brown Rice Formula

Avoderm Canned:

  • Adult Lamb & Rice Formula Wet
  • Adult Chicken & Rice Formula Wet
  • Adult Lamb & Rice Formula Wet
  • Adult Vegetarian Formula Wet

Avoderm Consumer Info

Where can I buy Avoderm?

You may be wondering, “Where can I buy Avoderm Dog Food?”. To assist you, we have included links on the specific Avoderm formula pages to purchase Avoderm dog food.

How much Avoderm should I feed my dog?

A common question that many pet owners have, is “How much Avoderm dog food should I feed my dog?”. Since the answer is dependent on several factors (such as your dog’s age, weight, activity level, etc) always follow the specific instructions on your formula’s packaging.

Have you fed your dog any of the Avoderm dog food dry or canned formulas? Do you have feedback that could help other pet owners? Please share your review of Avoderm dog food!

Ingredient List*

Avoderm Dog Food Ingredient List

*for AvoDerm Original Canned Food

Avoderm Coupons

Avoderm Coupons

More Avoderm Coupons…

13 Responses to Avoderm

  1. Lynn Ramsay September 13, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    http://www.petfoodindustry.com/News/Breeder_s_Choice_recalls_adult_dog_food_formula_for_Salmonella.html
    AVODERM RECALL!!!!! I have read many of these posts and wanted to suggest to all of you to find a food that controls everything from vendor auditing to distribution. Very few foods can say this. Hill’s is one of few…I would suggest learning more about their line of Ideal Balance which is also in grain free!

  2. Casey July 5, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    I’ve used AvoDerm since it was first introduced back in the 80’s. It has always been an outstanding dog food and one of very few that has never been recalled and even better, it’s made in the USA. All of my dogs are healthy with beautiful coats and skin. Avocados are rich in vitamins and healthy oils and when I had my own tree, I used to slice up fresh avocados and No one ever had any issues. You do have to switch your dogs protein source every few months, so I’m thrilled AvoDerm has the Revolving dog food to address that issue and Yes I’m very loyal to AvoDerm. Every time I switch protein sources to another brand, that brand ends up on a recall or their coats don’t look as good. So as long as AvoDerm produces an outstanding product, I’ll be a loyal customer.

  3. AVOCADO!!!! June 15, 2012 at 4:56 am #

    Avocado is in the 15th and 16th ingredients in this food, the staple of this food, and is also recognized as toxic by the ASPCA!!!

    Directly from the ASPCA website:

    Avocado
    Additional Common Names: Alligator Pear
    Scientific Name: Persea americana
    Family: Lauraceae
    Where Found: Primarily grown in Florida and California; readily available in grocery stores.
    Toxicity: Toxic to Cats, Toxic to Dogs
    Toxic Principles: Persin
    Clinical Signs: The leaves, seeds fruit and bark are likely all toxic. Rabbits: inflammation of the mammary glands, decreased milk production, difficulty breathing, fluid around heart, heart rhythm problems, death. Goats: inflammation of the mammary glands, decreased milk production, difficulty breathing, fluid around heart, heart rhythm problems, death. Birds: difficulty breathing, fluid around heart, heart rhythm problems, death. Dogs, cats: vomiting, diarrhea.

    If your pet ingested this plant, contact your local veterinarian or the ASPCA Animal Poison Control Center at 888-426-4435.*

    Why would you buy this!?!?!?!?!?

    • EJ December 3, 2014 at 1:23 pm #

      I take back the thumbs up. Thought the arrow was for comments. You’re not a very smart individual if this is what you believe. Research the actual food.

  4. Julie April 27, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

    Have been feeding this food to my dogs for servral years. They loved it until they changed the shape of the food. Now they do not want to eat it. The pieces are to big for my little dogs and even my Aussie has no intrest in eating it any more. Why did you change it? Would love to continue to use this product but if the the shape doesn’t change I will have to switch brands.

  5. LM April 15, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

    My goldendoodle was on a cheaper dog food when we first got him, but for the last several months he has been scratching himself and he even started getting hot spots. I switched him to Avoderm and he seems to be doing better already. The hot spot he had cleared right up and he is scratching a lot less. I will continue to buy this food for him.

  6. maggienbob April 6, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    I worked in a pet store back in the 80s and new about how wonderful avoderm was. I fed my cats (what was then called)avocat. So when I got my pugs 6, 3 yrs ago I gave them avoderm. What Happened?! I purchased a bag and it smelled Rancid! I took it back, but almost every bag I have purchased (from different stores)has smelled rancid. The ones that didn’t smell, I fed to my pugs and they started throwing up. My boy has a slightly sensitive stomach, but my girl can eat just about anything and this made her sick. ..so dissapointed.. back to royal canin & chickensoupforthedoglover’ssoul.

  7. Sm September 30, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

    I got my yorkie male a year ago he was under weigh and use to eat the yellow stuff so a went to the pet store and purchase avoderm smll brrd chicken/rise he lvd the food then try to switch to earth natural he dnt like it. So ket him with avedrm year latr swich him to the bake formla n he is scraching n gets hot spots im still looking for anther food but he doesnt like it 9/30/11 misn hls, calf

  8. Carole June 5, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    I have two bichons that were fed IAMS since they were puppies. The two year old was constantly scratching and licking to the point where he would strip all the fur off his legs. And the five year old had frequent ear infections and problems. I switched them to Avoderm Adult Lamb and Brown Rice about a year ago and the change has been dramatic. Scratching and licking have greatly diminished in the younger dog and we haven’t had a single ear problem with the older one. What was even more impressive was the change in behavior of the older one. Since being on Avoderm, he’s had lots more energy. Not sure what to make of the issue over Avoderm including avocado but I know what we’ve seen has been overwhelmingly positive.

  9. Teresa May 12, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    I just switched my two dogs, (toy aussie & pekingnese), from Merrick turdunken to the NO GRAIN Avoderm formula, (meat). My aussie is super picky and has trouble with keeping weight on due to high energy so I was worried. To my surprise and delight she gobbled up all the food in one sitting. Since there are no “bits” (lifesource or otherwise), for her to pick out she eats ALL the food. I’m so happy. Her coat is already improving. I highly recommend this food!!

  10. Kim leyva May 11, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

    I have 2 Pomeranians that have severe allergies….I would love to try avoderm. How can I get access to coupons??? Thank you

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Breeder’s Choice Dog Food - November 15, 2010

    […] depending on the specific brand. There are four main product lines offered by Breeder's Choice: AvoDerm Natural, Pinnacle Dog Food, Advanced Pet Diets and Active Care. AvoDerm is an innovative approach to dog […]

  2. Pinnacle Dog Food | Dog Food Reviews - October 20, 2010

    […] Breeder's Choice Pet Foods. Aside from manufacturing Pinnacle dog food, Breeder's Choice also makes Avoderm dog food. Breeder's Choice Pet Foods has been making pet food formulas for over six decades. Breeder's […]